First partition of Poland

From 1772 the territory of Poland is gradually partitioned by imperialist neighbouring states, Austria, the Kingdom of Prussia and Russia, based on diplomatic agreements signed between the three states without officially declaring war on Poland. The first partition in 1795 leads to total disappearance of Poland from the map of Europe.