Versailles,  capitale of the kingdom

Versailles, humble village, was transformed by Louis XIV into a modern city and became the official seat of the government, as well as the main residence of the Court in May 6th, 1682. The three main avenues of the city converge towards the palace, the kingdom’s heart. Versailles remains the kingdom’s capital up to the departure of the royal family in October 6th, 1789.