The United Kingdom of the Netherlands

Following the fall of the French Empire and the Congress of Vienna, the nine French departments that formed the former Austrian Netherlands were joined together with the former United Provinces (the modern-day Netherlands) to form the United Kingdom of the Netherlands. The new realm was intended to act as a buffer between the great powers of England, France and Germany.